Biloela, Queensland, Australia
Image unavailable 26°C
Current: Sunny
Wind (Kph) : 22
Humidity (%) : 54
Wind Directions : E

Taroom, Queensland, Australia
Image unavailable 27°C
Current: Partly cloudy
Wind (Kph) : 9
Humidity (%) : 52
Wind Directions : WSW


News News

« Back


Come along and enjoy the fun, food and entertainment on offer at the 2019 Australia Day Celebrations.

Australia Day 2019 will be hosted by the Thangool community and will be celebrated at the Thangool Race Track on Saturday 26 January.

The Australia Day Committee are now calling for nominations for the various Australia Day Awards. These awards recognise and honour the outstanding achievements of Australians.  Shire residents and organisations are asked to support these awards by nominating members of their community in appreciation of their efforts. Award categories are:

  • Citizen & Young Citizen of the Year
  • Cultural & Junior Cultural – Artist and/or Arts Worker
  • Volunteer of the Year
  • Junior & Senior Sportsperson
  • Sports Coach, Official and/or Administrator
  • Community Group or Team
  • Community Event of the Year

The nomination form can be found here and hard copies are available from Council's Customer Service Centres and Libraries.

Nominations close on Friday 30 November 2018.

The winners will be announced and awards presented at the Australia Day celebrations. Further information in relation to the awards can be obtained by contacting Council's Customer Service on (07) 4992 9500.

On Australia Day we come together as a nation to celebrate what's great about Australia and being Australian. Australia Day is the biggest day of celebration in the nation. On Australia Day we celebrate the things that make our country great: the people, the land, our diversity, our sense of a fair go, our lifestyle and our freedoms. We reflect on our national journey. We commit to making our country even better in the future.

For more information contact the Banana Shire Australia Day Committee on (07) 4992 9500 or email  – ATTN: Australia Day Committee.