

## **AUSTRALIA DAY CELEBRATIONS**

#### SCOPE

Outlining Council's commitment to ensure Australia Day is celebrated annually in the Banana Shire.

#### **LEGISLATION**

Local Government Act 2009

Holidays Act 1986 (QLD)

#### **DEFINITIONS**

Council

Banana Shire Council

Shire

Banana Shire

#### **POLICY**

Council will determine at least three (3) years in advance the location of future Banana Shire Australia Day celebrations. Appropriate celebrations will be organised each year with Council contributing to the planning and activities in a meaningful way.

#### **PROCEDURE**

Procedures as approved and issued by the Chief Executive Officer, and subject to further revision, amendment and issue under the authority of the Chief Executive Officer.

Refer Appendix A – Australia Day Celebrations Location Confirmation Schedule.

#### CERTIFICATION

CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER **BANANA SHIRE COUNCIL** 

Title: Australia Day Celebrations Policy

Adopted: Meeting - 24 January 2002 Minute No. 23080

Function/Activity: Community Services (Other)

Reviewed/Amended: Policy Review Special Mtg 07/05/2022, Policy Retained Minute No. 23537, Policy Review Special Mtg 03/11/04, Policy Retained - Minute No. 29623, Policy Review Special Mtg 16/02/05, Policy Reformatted - Minute No. 29940, Policy Updated OM001947 07/12, 29/06/2016 OM003472, 22/11/23 OM005833

28/11/2023



# AUSTRALIA DAY CELEBRATIONS POLICY - APPENDIX A

### **AUSTRALIA DAY CELEBRATIONS LOCATION CONFIRMATION SCHEDULE**

The below schedule outlines future approved host communities, determined on a rotating basis through the twelve (12) communities of the Banana Shire. Noting the Wowan and Dululu communities have elected to host a joint celebration.

2024	Biloela
2025	Thangool
2026	Taroom
2027	Baralaba
2028	Cracow
2029	Wowan/Dululu
2030	Moura
2031	Goovigen
2032	Theodore
2033	Banana
2034	Taroom
2035	Jambin
2036	Biloela