2021 Australia Day Award nominees

2021 Australia Day Award nominees

Published: 11th January 2021

The 2021 Australia Day Celebrations will be hosted by the Banana Community at the Banana Sports and Recreation Grounds on Tuesday 26 January.
Gates open at 10am and the Official Ceremony will commence at 3pm with presentation of the Awards and a Citizenship Ceremony.

Banana Shire Council received 25* nominations across nine categories for the 2021 Banana Shire Australia Day Awards.

The categories include:

  • Senior Sportsperson
  • Sports Coach Official and/or Administrator
  • Community Group or Team
  • Junior Cultural
  • Cultural
  • Community Event of the Year
  • Volunteer of the Year
  • Young Citizen of the Year
  • Citizen of the Year

No nominations were received for Junior Sportsperson.
Nominees include:

  • 2020 Brigalow Arts Festival
  • 2020 Festival of Small Halls – Wowan
  • Alan McTaggart
  • Ashley Cook
  • Biloela Netball Association Committee
  • Biloela Valleys Football Club
  • Britt Nash
  • Brooke Hay
  • David Snell
  • Francis Moretti
  • Hilary Coulter
  • Jessica Weimar
  • John Muller
  • Judy Mazzer
  • Kate Mooring
  • Leichhardt Branch of the Australian Stock Horse Society
  • Lilly Smith
  • Loraine Hellyer
  • Mel Collins
  • Moura Tigers Junior Rugby League Club
  • Paul Fowkes
  • Rhana Maher
  • Shari Hancox

Further information can be found on Council’s website –
*multiple nominations have been received for some nominees