2020 Banana Shire Australia Day Award Winners Announced

2020 Banana Shire Australia Day Award Winners Announced

Published: 28th January 2020

Congratulations to the Theodore Community on hosting the official 2020 Banana Shire Australia Day celebrations at the Theodore Showgrounds.

Three residents of our Shire proudly became Australian Citizens and winners of the Banana Shire Australia Day Awards were announced. The awards include ten categories; the following list includes nominees and winners for each award. Congratulations to all recipients and nominees.

Picture is Mayor Nev Ferrier with the 2020 Citizen of the Year Winner, Di Morris.

Citizen of the Year Award

Dianne Morris (Winner)

Douglas Poole

Sally Conway

Young Citizen of the Year Award

Ameliija Swaffer-Selff (Winner)

Volunteer Award

Graham Rewald (Winner)

John Walton

Cultural Award

Le-Anne Cowell (Winner)

Junior Cultural Award

Laney Siegmeier (Winner)

Senior Sportsperson

Salome Duff (Winner)

Junior Sportsperson

Ameliija Swaffer-Selff (Winner)

Tyler Seagrott

Sports Coach, Official and/or Administrator

Terry Tappin (Winner)

Judi Powell

Community Group or Team

Wowan/Dululu Community Volunteer Group Inc. (Winner)

Callide Dawson Beef Carcase Competition Committee

Leichhardt Branch Australian Stock Horse Society

Community Event of the Year Award

2019 Jambin State School P&C Bullarama (Winner)

The Bilo Blowout

Cutting Edge Express Time Trial Races