Local Government Elections Update

Local Government Elections Update

Published: 20th March 2024

The local government elections were held on Saturday, 16 March 2024.


The Electoral Commission Queensland has now officially declared these candidates duly elected for the Banana Shire Council.


Banana Shire Mayor Nev Ferrier elected unopposed.


Three divisional Councillors re-elected unopposed:


Division 3 Councillor, Phillip Casey

Division 4 Councillor, Kerrith Bailey

Division 5 Councillor, Brooke Leo


Congratulations to the re-elected Councillors.


Counting continues for the three contested seats in Division 1, 2 and 6.


The latest count can be seen at Vote Result System | Electoral Commission of Queensland (elections.qld.gov.au)


The new-look Banana Shire Council will sit for the first time in the second week of April or early April.